Now that’s just what I needed to hear Craig. I will check out the website later but it sounds as though you have addressed all the issues I raised and those that were raised in the forum thread. This should put an end to the speculation once and for all. The personal involvement in the Campaign of one of Bartlett’s partners also gives further reassurance that the Campaign hasn’t sold its soul.
Let me know when the site officially goes live and I will add a link from the Chester Easy Riders site.
Thanks again.
Bryan
_________________________
Bryan Wade.
-----Original
Message-----
From: cyclomania@yahoogroups.com
[mailto:cyclomania@yahoogroups.com] On Behalf
Of Craig Steeland
Sent: 21
March 2009 09:50
To: cyclomania@yahoogroups.com
Subject: RE: [cyclomania] Chester
Cycle City
Bryan,
Thank you for your
forthright comments about the new website. The website has only just been
delivered to us from the developers, devoid of content. Others have
promised to assist me with the content, but no contributions have yet been
forthcoming. I have limited time to work on the site. However, a
great deal of progress is being made, day by day. There is hardly any
Latin placeholder text left!
Bartlett's
Solicitors have generously sponsored the development of the website as a result
of the interest and involvement of one of the firm's partners who is an active
cyclist and a Life Member of the Chester Cycling Campaign. This sponsorship
amounts to thousands of pounds. The adverts will eventually be removed
and the website will become the offical home of the Chester Cycling Campaign in
due course. The sponsors have given absolute editorial control to the
Chester Cycling Campaign and this was one of the conditions of the sponsorship.
We are using a
sophisicated content management system to develop the website, and therefore
web development must be done directly on an internet-facing web server. I
do not have the time or the resources to have my own web server in my house.
I think you will find
that the ownership of the website is now extremely transparent. I have
added a number of ‘About Us’ pages which explain the background and
purpose of the website, and a new ‘For Cyclists, By Cyclists!’
tagline to the home page. I suggest that you read the content that now
appears there. If you are satisfied with what you read, then I would be
grateful if you could post a further comment in the Forum. Note that I
have put all of the links in ‘Links’ and renamed the section at the
bottom of the home page to ‘Forum’. All of these little
tweaks add to the usability of the site.
http://www.chesterc
Patience and understanding
will be necessary during these early days of developing the website. I
welcome any other constructive comments you may wish to make.

I would be grateful if
you could arrange for any CTC links to this new website to be restored to the
CTC websites once you are satisfied that the new website is worth a visit by
CTC members.
Best regards,
Craig Steeland
From: cyclomania@yahoogro
Sent:
To: Cyclomania egroup
Subject: [cyclomania] Chester Cycle City
I have been
following the debate about the Chester Cycle City website on
the www.ChesterCycleCit
This is an
appalling mess the Campaign seems to have got itself into! What on earth
is going on? As a long standing member I am seriously concerned about the
integrity of the Campaign that this debate has raised.
There are
important questions here for the Campaign hence my reason for writing this on
the Campaign egroup rather than the open web forum.
First, how
come the site has gone live when apparently it is not “live” and
not ready to be viewed by the general public. I would have thought that
at the very least it would be possible to host the site under a temporary name
or hidden away in an obscure part of the existing Campaign site. Can such
action be taken now so that no more damage is done? The home page notice
that appeared yesterday as a result of the debate was certainly a help but then
it disappeared today without explanation!
How did the
site get promoted on the local CTC site if it wasn’t intended for general
viewing? That’s where I first heard about it and no doubt
others. Incidentally I informed the CTC webmaster today that the Cycle City site
wasn’t supposed to be live so that hopefully they can flag it up.
Why was the
site designed to look like an official Cycle Demonstration Town site with
no statement to the effect that it was a Campaign site. It fooled me,
until I read the “Let’s get some balance” thread on the
forum. How would you feel if you discovered that a site you had relied on
was really a front for a completely different organisation?
This really
isn’t good enough.
This sort
of action generates uncertainty, gives rise to mistrust, and throws into doubt
the integrity and credibility of the whole Campaign.
To be
effective the Campaign needs to operate with the highest levels of integrity.
Can we get this sorted out quickly and put it behind us?
Finally can
someone please reassure me that the Campaign hasn’t sold out to
commercial interests and that we are not in hock to the solicitors whose
prominent advertisements appear on the home page?
It seems to
me that there are very real lessons to be learnt from this.
Bryan
____________
Bryan Wade